Baking with tea? Seriously I have …..

Baking with tea?  Yes, seriously, I have tried it today, all thanks to a request from the lovely people at teapigs.  You may remember my Iced Tea post from a few weeks ago, when I received a variety of teas from teapigs.  I tried a couple of different Iced Teas and then decided that I would cook something using some of the tea – but what?

As luck would have it I received a little parcel last week …..

…… and The Hummingbird Bakery cookbook contained a recipe for Green Tea cupcakes 🙂 I had some teapigs Green Tea with Mint tea temples to use so thought I’d give the recipe a try. Mint could only add to the taste.

First thing this morning I soaked 3 teapigs Green Tea with mint teabags in 120ml of milk and left covered in the fridge for 2 hours to infuse.

www.over40andamumtoone.wordpress.com milk infused with teapigs Green tea with mint

http://www.over40andamumtoone.wordpress.com milk infused with teapigs Green tea with mint

It was then a case of following the recipe from Hummingbird Bakery …..

Plain flour, unsweetened cocoa powder, caster sugar, baking powder, pinch of salt, unsalted butter, 1 egg, vanilla extract and the infused milk turn into lovely muffins.

I let them cool and then decided to add a chocolate frosting (there is actually a recipe for Green Tea frosting too, but you needed tea powder for that rather than leaves) ……

www.over40andamumtoone.wordpress.com Green Tea with Mint muffins with Chocolate frosting

http://www.over40andamumtoone.wordpress.com Green Tea with Mint muffins with Chocolate frosting

We managed to wait until after dinner to try these muffins …..

Think mint chocolate Aero with a hint of green tea and you’ll know exactly how this muffin tasted.  It was delicious.  I’d never considered using tea as a cooking ingredient, but today has changed that.  I shall be looking at other recipes to expand my tea baking repertoire!

To round off the day, what better drink than an Iced Tea  – it had to be Green Tea with mint, cucumber and lemon – very refreshing!

www.over40andamumtoone.wordpress.com Iced Tea Green Tea with mint, cucumber and lemon

http://www.over40andamumtoone.wordpress.com Iced Tea Green Tea with mint, cucumber and lemon

About over40andamumtoone

I'm over 40 with a 4 year old little boy.Join us as we enjoy life and have lots of fun!
This entry was posted in Family life, Food and Drink, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baking with tea? Seriously I have …..

  1. Oh wow – they look seriously delicious!! – would love to try one! And the iced green tea looks very refreshing too.

Leave a Reply

